Celiac disease: an overview and more

Gluten is a protein found in almost all cereals. This is what gives the dough its elasticity and structure. However, only one type of gluten, found in the Poaceae family of herbs, causes reactions in people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity. It is found in wheat, barley, rye, and some types of oats (as a result of cross contamination).

Related Articles